Legislation was introduced in Oregon this week that would prohibit the sale, distribution, and trade of fur throughout the state.
The bill, House Bill 2676, was created by Oregon State Representative Rob Nosse and is currently pending.
Under the bill, selling, distributing, or trading fur products is punishable by a “maximum of 364 days imprisonment, $6,250 fine, or both.”
The bill does exempt “animal skin to be converted into leather, cowhide, deerskin, lambskin or sheepskin or animal pelt or skin preserved through taxidermy or for purpose of taxidermy.” So leather products would still be aloud, but fur products would be banned.
The first committee hearing for House Bill 2676 is expected to take place in the Spring of 2021.
Banning Fur – COVID-19
The fur trade has been linked to the spread of COVID-19 in Oregon. A COVID-positive mink escaped a fur farm in Oregon and risked spreading the virus to local wildlife.
“It is increasingly clear that the fur industry exacerbates the spread of disease like COVID-19,” Nosse said, according to Animal People Forum. “By limiting the sale of this cruel and unnecessary product, we can prepare for the next pandemic and create a more safe and humane Oregon.”
California Already Banned Fur
Oregon isn’t the first state to introduce a bill banning the sale of fur. In 2019, Governor Newsom passed a bill banning fur in California. That bill is set to take effect in 2023.
If Oregon passes House Bill 2676, it would become the second state to ban fur. Seeing as California successfully passed such a bill, it’s promising that other states may soon follow suit.