Starbucks Launched New Non-Dairy Menu Items Nationwide Including Oatly

Starbucks Launched New Non-Dairy Menu Items Nationwide Including Oatly

As part of its dominant shift towards a plant-based menu, Starbucks just announced the launch of Oatly nationwide. In addition to adding the non-dairy milk option to its menu, they also announced the release of new menu items featuring plant-based milks.

Starbucks announced the release of Oatly nationwide in a post on Instagram. They said, “So we heard you wanted oatmilk… Oatly is available at Starbucks starting March 2—add it to all of your favorite drinks!”

Photo courtesy of Starbucks via Instagram

As if that weren’t great enough, in a separate Instagram post, Starbucks shared that it’s now offering an Iced Chocolate Almondmilk Shaken Espresso and the Iced Brown Sugar Oatmilk Shaken Espresso. The drinks are described as “Layers of rich flavor and nondairy milk,” and each grande-sized beverage has under 200 calories.

Photo courtesy of Starbucks via Instagram

According to Starbucks’ website, the Iced Brown Sugar Oatmilk Shaken Espresso is a blonde espresso shaken with brown sugar and cinnamon. The mixture is then topped with Oatly oatmilk.

The Iced Chocolate Almondmilk Shaken Espresso is also a blonde espresso base, but it’s shaken with cocoa and a hint of malt. The beverage is topped with almonmilk for a finished taste.

Starbucks Going Plant-Based

Starbucks has been gradually shifting towards a plant-based menu in recent years. They’ve introduced various meat-substitutes, like a Beyond Meat breakfast sandwich and a vegan beef.

As the demand increases for plant-based options, it seems Starbucks is willing to step up and make changes as needed.

New Shamrock Tea From Starbucks Secret Menu Is Vegan

New Shamrock Tea From Starbucks Secret Menu Is Vegan

The latest Starbucks secret menu item is a bright green Shamrock Tea for St. Patrick’s Day. The best part about it? It’s vegan!

For those who aren’t aware, the Starbucks secret menu is a way to order off-menu drinks. However, you can’t just ask for the name of the drink (i.e., the Shamrock Tea). Instead, you have to provide the barista with a set of directions to make one of their current menu items into something totally new!

To order the Shamrock Tea, ask for an Iced Venti Green Tea Latte made with coconut milk. Then, ask them to add in a splash of lemonade and 2 scoops of vanilla bean powder. That’s all it takes!

If you’re not interested in a cold drink, you can order the Shamrock Tea hot as well.

Watch the TikTok below for full instructions on ordering:

Starbucks Shifting Towards Veganism

In the past few years, Starbucks has made a shift towards plant-based and vegan menu items. Due to the demand for non-dairy milk and plant-based food items, Starbucks has been adding more plant-based items to its menus.

Back in Spring, Starbucks’ Featured Menu included multiple vegan and vegetarian items, including a drink made with coconut milk and a vegetarian wrap. More recently, they’ve introduced a plant-based beef product to some locations as well.

We can’t wait to see even more vegan options coming in future years!

Is Honey Ethical? Survey Revealed 90% Of Vegans Think Honey Is Ok

Is Honey Ethical? Survey Revealed 90% Of Vegans Think Honey Is Ok

In a recent survey, 90% of people who identified as vegan said they believe that honey can be ethical.

The survey conducted by The Vegan Insider polled 1,104 vegans, who identified as caring about animal rights and sustainability. Since honey isn’t vegan, the results were surprising.

Honey seems to be a gray area for many, vegans included, with a lot of people choosing to eat vegan “except for honey.” Only 8-9% of participants didn’t believe honey could be ethical, and the rest were unsure.

So, can honey be ethical? What about backyard beekeepers?

Many vegans are concerned that collecting honey directly kills bees. Larger-scale commercial operations may gas their bees, clip their wings, and/or feed them sugar water. But what about backyard beekeepers? Is it possible to collect honey in a way that does no harm? We interviewed two backyard beekeepers to find out.

The beekeepers we interviewed have bees as a hobby or for their immediate families and plants – not as a commercial operation. They are known to have the “best” possible practices when it comes to beekeeping. We’re masking their identities for privacy and they will be referred to as Keeper 1 and Keeper 2.

It’s important to note that we’re exclusively exploring backyard beekeeping with the best attempts to cause zero-harm, which is unrelated to commercial operations or honey you’d buy in a store.

Do the bees get killed during harvest?

From knowing hobby beekeepers in the past, we were primarily concerned that bees could get squished during harvest. “I’m not going to pretend that can’t happen,” said Keeper 1. “There is no harm to the colony. There is ALWAYS a chance some may accidentally get squished or get into your hood, or sting you (and die)…Bees are lost when they sting, they can get squished every now and then. It happens. You can not watch where you put your hand and kill 3.” He did note that those things happen, despite the best efforts to cause zero harm.

Keeper 2 revealed that every honey harvest kills around 24-48 bees out of a hive of 40,000. She said, “They get squished during the removal of the box, or refuse to leave the box and ride it to the honey house, (and eventually the freezer).”

So killing bees during honey harvesting is unavoidable in the best of practices. But there’s a reason so many people concerned with animal welfare still support honey.

As Keeper 2 explained, “A healthy colony can easily lose 600+ bees a day to natural causes.” Both keepers agreed that the few lost to honey harvesting have no impact on the health of the hive as a whole. Beyond that, beekeepers can provide a safer environment for the bees and prevent losses – ultimately, saving more lives than they take.

Is there enough honey for the bees? Does harvesting upset the hive?

One common fear is that if humans take honey from bees, then the bees won’t have enough for winter (which is why some keepers feed their bees sugar water). But is there enough honey for bees and humans in a backyard, non-commercial practice? Absolutely.

Keeper 2 explained, “The hive needs at least one full box of harvested honey to survive the winter. So I add an extra box in the Spring, with a queen excluder beneath it to prevent brood from being mixed in with the honey cells. I harvest that box alone and leave the rest for the bees to enjoy.” By adding in an extra tray, the bees fill both – and there is plenty to go around.

But do the bees mind having the honey taken? Other than the few that die in the process, does the hive get upset? The answer is yes.

Keeper 1 shared, “no creature enjoys having the roof taken off their home… but minimizing the timeframe of the disturbances is part of the process. Keeping bees is as much about keeping them happy and safe as it is about getting wax and delicious honey to use.”

He then urged people to check out a local apiary to get a better feel for the process. He said, “If you’ve never been a part of it, I recommend finding beekeepers in your area and finding out first hand what it’s all about.”

Do the queen’s wings need clipped?

In the vegan community, it’s a common belief that beekeepers have to clip the queen’s wings so she won’t fly away and take the whole colony with her. While this does happen in some practices, it’s not necessary.

As Keeper 1 shared, “There is no reason to clip the wings of a Queen, swarming activities can be prevented or mitigated by other means. I, and everyone that I know, let the hive decide when it’s time for a new queen, they’re much better at it than we are.”

Can Honey Be Ethical?

Being “ethical” is actually subjective. What some view as ethical, others would disagree with. But it’s important to have the facts and decide for yourself if honey is something you believe can be ethical.

To summarize:

  • Bees are always killed to harvest honey, but just a few dozen per hive and no more than in the wild.
  • Bees can produce plenty of honey to share.
  • Keepers don’t have to use gas or clip wings.

Is It Ok For Vegans To Eat Honey?

Honey is not vegan by definition. However, many people are vegan because they care about the consequences of their actions and the impact of their choices. In some situations, it’s more beneficial to the animals and environment to consume non-vegan foods, like in the case of freeganism.

When it comes to honey specifically, it’s usually best to avoid it. Large-scale commercial operations are doing a lot of harm. However, there are situations in which honey may cause less harm than an alternative like agave.

Many vegans consume agave in place of honey. However, agave provides necessary food for bats. The increased demand for agave is putting a strain on the bat populations. According to NPR, some of the bats threatened by agave crops are already endangered species, including the Mexican long-nosed bat. So while honey, done properly, can support pollinators, agave is actually hurting them. But again, this is the exception and not the rule since most people who consume honey don’t source it carefully.

Beyond that, there are sustainable and ethical sweeteners, namely, maple syrup. Maple syrup is one of the best honey substitutes because of its minimal environmental and animal impact.

Ultimately, every decision makes an impact – and it’s up to you to decide if that impact is one you’re going to make. We just want you to be aware and conscious of your choices!

Ben & Jerry’s Just Released Non-Dairy Americone Dream Ice Cream

Ben & Jerry’s Just Released Non-Dairy Americone Dream Ice Cream

Ben & Jerry’s just released another vegan flavor: Americone Dream Non-Dairy Ice Cream.

The ice cream is the vegan version of Stephen Colbert’s Americone Dream ice cream. Colbert is the host of The Late Show and the flavor is inpired by his show and work.

The vegan Americone Dream ice cream features a vanilla almond-milk base, with fudge-covered waffle cone chunks and caramel swirls mixed in. Originally, the waffle cone pieces contained milk, but they remade them specifically for this flavor to make it vegan-friendly.

Ben & Jerry’s Americone Dream Non-Dairy Ingredients

Unlike the new non-dairy Karamel Sutra Kore, this ice cream is not gluten-free since it contains wheat flour. But it is 100% vegan!

ALMOND MILK (WATER, ALMONDS), LIQUID SUGAR (SUGAR, WATER), COCONUT OIL, SUGAR, CORN SYRUP SOLIDS, CORN SYRUP, WHEAT FLOUR, WATER, COCOA POWDER, BROWN SUGAR, PEA PROTEIN, CHICKPEA FLOUR, SUNFLOWER LECITHIN, NATURAL FLAVOR, SOY LECITHIN, SALT, VANILLA EXTRACT, PECTIN, CARAMELIZED SUGAR SYRUP, SEA SALT, GUAR GUM, LOCUST BEAN GUM, SOYBEAN OIL.

Americone Dream Non-Dairy Nutritional Label

Ben&Jerry’s Vegan Ice Cream Flavors

Ice cream giant Ben&Jerry’s first introduced a line of vegan ice creams back in 2016. Those initial ice cream flavors included the popular Chunky Monkey, Coffee Caramel Fudge, P.B. and Cookies, and Chocolate Fudge Brownie.

Since then, the company has released a total of 18 vegan ice cream flavors, with this Americone Dream being the latest.

It seems that Ben & Jerry’s is adapting well to the increase of dairy-free diets and is only continuing to add to its vegan and non-dairy options.

Ben & Jerry’s non-dairy, vegan flavors include:

Peanut Butter Half Baked
P.B. & Cookies
Netflix & Chill’d
Coffee Caramel Fudge
Coconut Seven Layer Bar
Chocolate Salted ‘n Swirled
Chocolate Fudge Brownie
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough
Chocolate Caramel Cluster
Cherry Garcia
Caramel Almond Brittle
Phish Food (new)
Mint Chocolate Cookie
“Milk” & Cookies
Crème Brûlée Cookie
Colin Kaepernick’s Change the Whirled (new)
Karamel Sutra Kore (new)
Americone Dream (new)

You can use the website’s search feature to find a location or Scoop Shop near you!

McDonald’s Is Bringing Back Hi-C Orange Lavaburst (and it’s vegan)

McDonald’s Is Bringing Back Hi-C Orange Lavaburst (and it’s vegan)

Last week, Mcdonald’s announced the return of Hi-C Orange Lavaburst to menus.

The fan-favorite was first introduced to McDonald’s back in 1955. However, after more than 6 decades, it was discontinued in 2017.

Since its disappearance from menus and drink fountains, McDonald’s has received constant Tweets, emails, and petitions requesting that the drink be brought back. It seems McDonald’s is finally listening and is rolling out the beverage across the nation once again.

According to a post from McDonald’s, Hi-C Orange Lavaburst will be back in all US locations by the summer of 2021. If you’re interested in locating the drink nearest you, you can use their Hi-C Orange Tracker tool. They advise checking back weekly to see if the beverage has made it to a location near you.

Is Hi-C Orange Lavaburst Vegan?

Yes, McDonald’s Hi-C Orange Lavaburst drink is vegan.

While not much is vegan at McDonald’s, the company is experimenting with more vegan options – like with the McVegan and McPlant burger. However, this drink is accidentally vegan.

Hi-C Orange Lavaburst Ingredients:

PURE FILTERED WATER, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, ORANGE, PEAR AND APPLE JUICES FROM CONCENTRATE, LESS THAN 0.5% OF: NATURAL FLAVORS, CITRIC ACID, VITAMIN C, POTASSIUM CITRATE, SUCRALOSE, ACESULFAME POTASSIUM.

It’s great to see so many people excited about the comeback of a vegan menu item! What do you think of the comeback?